My visit to Kukke Subramanya

Kukke Subramanya Temple has always fascinated me. There is an element of mysticism and energy about the place and temple I cannot describe. To borrow the words of my uncle – “There is a Agochara Shakti (invisible energy) in the place, temple and the deity”.

I remember an aunt of mine telling me recently that only those whom Lord Subramanya grants his grace can visit the place and have his darshan. If he doesn’t want it, you cannot see him even if you get to the temple. I believe this to be hundred percent true. It was five years ago and we were starting off from Bangalore in our car to Mangalore for the annual festival at Nellitheertha. My mother suggested that we visit Kukke on the way and then proceed. For some strange reason, Guru and I put it down very rudely. We took a break at Sakleshpura at around 11AM and headed towards Mangalore through Shiradi Ghats. Midway, a red car stopped us and informed us of a major pileup just ahead. “Its going to take more than 24 hours for the jam to clear. Two tankers have collided. Get back” he said.

Back we came to Sakleshpura and checked with multiple people. All of them told us the same thing – “You have to go through Kukke to reach Uppinangadi and then Mangalore”. (we now know that they were wrong. There are other routes to get to Mangalore from Sakleshpura). We reached Kukke but the temple was closed. We did get to eat food at the temple but did not get Lord Subramanya’s darshan.

Towards the end of December last year, my colleague Gautham casually suggested that I visit Kukke once and pray to Subramanya. I immediately decided to do so. Just a couple of days later when I was planning my Nellitheertha trip, Ananthu told me about his planned trip to South Kanara and Nellitheertha. I quickly realized that Kukke was in his radar. It was finalized immediately that I would hop into his car once the Jaatre was done and visit Kukke. We visited Dharmasthala before Kukke and landed at the temple on a Saturday morning. Believe it or not – I got to have darshan of the Lord 4 times in 4 hours, in spite of the huge rush.

It was certainly a very very satisfying experience for me, something I will cherish for a long time.

Powered by ScribeFire.

10 thoughts on “My visit to Kukke Subramanya

  1. Very true.
    If the lord doesnot wish to give his darshan , one really cannot reach there.
    we started from bhadravathi in our car.from Bhadravathi .just on the outskirts of bhadravathi, our driver hit a cyclist. This was a strange and unusual one which we could have avoided easily but some how it happend.
    soon the cylist created a drama and had to take him to to hospital .I got delayed there and had to shell out 2000 buks to setlle off and move ahead.
    Mood out!! .Had read bout this ealier from the same blog. I could sense that god does not wish to give his darshan.
    It was gain i decided to visit ther a few weeks later.Again due to some starnge reason my father declined to visit.
    Lemme me post more when i would finally visist there.

  2. Finally the lord callmed me witha surprise.
    This time it was not just Subramnaya.But also Dharmasthala.
    The situation cooked up in such a was that i could visit bot the places.
    The prsada bhojanam at subrmanya was amazing.
    My visit with my whole family was indeed very memorable.

  3. hI …. READ UR BLOG….. WAS SO RELIEVED TO FIND UR WRITE UP ON SUBRAMANYA TEMPLE , SINCE CUDNT FIND MUCH INFO…

    NEED UR HELP ASAP ..PLZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    IAM LEAVING FOR A TRIP TO HILLS OF KARNATAKA …THE TOUR IS SCHEDULED FOR … MUMBAI… MULKY.. MUDBIDRI…. MUDBHIDRI – KUDREMUKH – KALSA – HORNADU – CHICJKMAGLUR …BABABUDAN GIRI ….BELUR – HALEBIDU – COORG … WHERE WE STAY FOR 4 DAYS IN COORG..
    I WISH TO VISIT SUBRAMANYA AND DHARMASTHALA.. I WAS TOLD THAT THE SHORTEST DISATNCE TO BOTH THE PLACES WAS FROM MUDBIDRI.. BUT SINCE IAM ON AN PRE PLANNED TOUR .. IT CANNOT BE INTERRUPTED ONLY FOR ME… ON THE 3 RD DAY OF MY STAY AT COORG THEY PLAN TO VISIT THE MONASTERY .. FOR WHICH IAM NOT INTERESTED… THAT DAY I PLAN TO VISIT THESE TWO PLACES…

    SUGGEST:-
    HOW FAR IS THE DISATNCE FROM COORG TO SUBRAMNAYA & DHARMASTHAL
    CAN IT BE DONE IN ONE DAY…RETURN BACK TO COORG AT NIGHT
    TEMPLE TIMINGS …ANY TIPS
    INSHORT HOW CAN I ACHIEVE IT
    IAM BANKING ON YOU PLZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ HELP

  4. namaskar,
    Thanks again….. Hari.. this was my first experience with blog and blogger.. and i must say … iam ur fan for sure… infact iam leaving for karnataka 2morrow .. once iam back shall send u a link of pics ..just hope god gives me a chance to see him 🙂
    once again thankyou & god bles you 🙂

    shruti

  5. Hi
    This is nandini. Happy to see all the information about subramanya temple .
    astrologer had said me to do sarpa samskara at kukke subramanya . i like to know more about this pooja and we need to take the DD , i need the address and whats the procedure . please help me , mail id :sneha.gowds@gmail.com

    1. Hi,
      Nandini

      Astrologer had said me to do sarpa samskara at kukke subramanya . i like to know more about this pooja and we need to take the DD , i need the address and whats the procedure.

      please help me , mail id

Leave a Reply

