Mahabharata Tatparya Nirnaya: Chapter 1: Part 4

  • 91 When devatas perform an appropriate (to them) Upasana of Lord Hari and when they see Lord Hari directly in a form appropriate with their direct knowledge, they obtain Mukti.
  • 92 Lord Hari is always worshipped with all attributes by Brahma. By humans, he is worshipped as ananda, sarvagna, sat and aatma. He is worshipped by all other devatas till Brahma with those attributes as are appropriate to their capability (yogyata).
  • 93 Those group of souls who are eligible for the post of Brahma are known as “Rujus”. Only they can attain the position of Brahma. Others can never obtain that position irrespective of what sadhana one performs.
  • 94 In this way, there are groups of souls for every position in the hierarchy (of souls). The hierarchy of souls is thus eternal and infinite.
  • 95 No one is capable of modifying this hierarchy. One who desires to obtain a position not appropriate to his position will surely fall; there is no doubt about this.
  • 96 Therefore, everyone should always worship Lord Vishnu according to their yogyata. With meditation that is without any break and karma that is nishkama and according to one’s yogyata, everyone can see Lord Hari according to their own yogyata. His direct knowledge cannot be had with any other means.
  • 97 Since this is the rule of Lord Hari, it can never be violated by any of the souls, ever. And since He Himself is always true to His own rules, neither will He change these rules.
  • 98 Donation, theertha yatra, tapas, yagna and other such means are the ways to perform constant meditation and devotion of Lord Hari; Bhakti alone is the main tool to obtain Mukti; These excellent sentences are all from the excellent source called Bhavishyat Parva.
  • 99 “Shrunve veera ugramugram damaayannanyamanyamatineniyamaanah edhamaanadvilubhayasya raajaa choshkooyate visha indro manushyaan” (Rigveda)
  • 100 “Paraa poorveshaam sakhyaa vrunakti vitarturaano aparebhireti. anaanubhooteeravadhoonvaanah poorveerindrah sharadastartareeti” (Rigveda)
  • 101 “Tamevam vidvaanamruta iha bhavati naanyah panthaa ayanaaya vidyate” (Taittareeya aranyaka). “Tamevam viditvaaatimrutyumeti naanyah panthaa vidyate ayanaaya” (Shvetaashvataropanishat).
  • 102 “Yasya deve paraa bhaktiryathaa deve tathaa gurou. Tasmaite kathitaa hyarthaah prakaashante mahaatmanah” (Shvetaashvataropanishat).
  • 103 Everything else is only for bhakti; bhakti is only meant for Moksha; Even in the liberated, bhakti, as an eternal and constant bliss, does exist.
  • 104 Bhakti means friendship which is accompanied by knowledge and intensity and firmness. These and other veda vakyas reveal these methods.
  • 105 “O Lord Hari! A person who does not have devotion in you will always stay in naraka even if he performs all his duties without fail. A person who is your devotee will obtain liberation even if he commits a Brahma Hatya”.
  • 106 “O Lord Achyuta! Even the adharma performed by your devotees becomes dharma. O Lord Hari! Even the dharma performed by those who aren’t your devotees becomes adharma”.
  • 107 “O Parantapa! Arjuna! Only with this sort of unmatched devotion can I be known appropriately, can I be seen and entered into” (Bhagavadagita).
  • 108 Daityas are eternal haters of Lord Vishnu. Their hatred for Vishnu keeps especially increasing and such hatred will eventually land them in Tamas.
  • 109 Those who fall into Tamas, where there is not even a trace of happiness, will always have complete ignorance and pain filled hatred towards Him.
  • 110 The knowledge (belief) of non-difference between Paramatma and Jeevas; the knowledge of Paramatma having no attributes; the knowledge of Him having incomplete attributes; equating Paramatma with others; knowledge that others are higher than Him; knowledge of difference in His various forms and attributes and actions (contd)
  • 111 The knowledge of birth and death for Him in His avataras; the hatred of His devotees; the condemnation of all those knowledge sources which proclaim His supremacy; knowledgeable people term these as the nine forms of hatred.
  • 112 It is certain that devotion without any of these nine hatreds is true devotion. Devatas have such devotion since always and their devotion keeps increasing.
  • 113 (that increased devotion) Leads them to direct knowledge and then increases further to be a cause for their Mukti. In Mukti, they always have devotion embedded in their bliss.
  • 114 Just like how whiteness is always an attribute attached with the nature of the cow, similarly happiness and knowledge are always in the nature of devotion; not in any other way.
  • 115 Lord Vishnu gets pleased only with devotion and not anything else. He, truly, is the giver of Mukti; and devotion towards Him is the true instrument to achieve Mukti.
  • 116 This devotion is the reason behind the hierarchy amongst Brahma and others and also amongst the liberated; This exists in the hierarchy since eternity and is perpetual; Devotion is the reason for the hierarchy and not anything else.
  • 117 The lowest ones amongst humans will always have at least a little hatred towards Lord Vishnu. Therefore, they are always filled with sorrow; there is no doubt about this.
  • 118 The madhyamas (average) amongst humans will always possess doubts over truths such as the supremacy of Lord Vishnu; they will therefore obtain results which are a mix of happiness and sorrow. The best amongst humans will always have at least a little devotion towards Him and therefore will obtain Moksha.
  • 119 The bhakti that Brahma has is always the best and highest amongst all Jivas. These and other such statements have come in Puranas again and again.
  • 120, 121 The one who possesses height of 96 angulas, waist size of 48 angulas, length of 7 feet and 32 lakshanas; one who has no doubts regarding the truth; one who clears the questions of knowledge seekers; he is referred to as a ‘Guru’ by the knowledgeable. Therefore, Brahma is always the main Guru for all. Similarly, all those who are better than an individual are all known as Gurus for that person.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s