The Taratamya or hierarchy amongst Ishvara and Jivas.
I) Maha Vishnu or Narayana or Paramatma
II) Maha Lakshmi

  1. Brahma, Vayu
  2. Saraswati, Bharati
  3. Gaurda, Shesha, Rudra
  4. Shanmahishis (Jambavati, Nila, Bhadra, Mitravinda, Kalindi and Lakshana)
  5. Souparni, Varuni, Parvati
  6. Indra, Kama
  7. Ahankarika Prana
  8. Aniruddha, Shachi, Rati, Svayambhuva Manu, Bruhaspati, Daksha Prajapati
  9. Pravaha Vayu
  10. Surya, Chandra, Yama, Shatharupa
  11. Varuna
  12. Narada
  13. Bhrugu, Agni, Prasuti
  14. Vishvamitra, Marichi, Atri, Angirasa, Pulastya, Pulaha, Kratu, Vasishta, Vaivasvata Manu
  15. Mitra, Tara, Nirruti, Pravahi
  16. Vishvaksena, Aswini Devatas, Ganapati, Kubera, 7 Vasus, 10 Rudras, 6 Adityas, 47 Maruts, 10 Vishvedevatas, 1 Rubhu, 2 Dyavaprithivi, 3 Pitrus
  17. Karmaja Devatas (Sanatkumaras, 7 Indras, Grahas, Gandharvas, Manus, Apsaras, etc)
  18. Ganga, Parjanya, Sanjna, Rohini, Shamala, Virat
  19. Anakhyata Devatas
  20. Svaha
  21. Budha
  22. Usha (wife of Ashvini Devatas)
  23. Shani
  24. Pushkara
  25. Ajanaja Devatas (16100 wives of Lord Krishna, etc)
  26. Chira Pirtus
  27. Deva gandharvas
  28. Manushya gandharvas
  29. Antardarshi Kings
  30. Uttama Manushyas

While Maha Vishnu and Maha Lakshmi do not have Linga Deha, the rest in the list do have Linga Deha (some
form of physical representation).

17 thoughts on “Taratamya

  1. Dear hari,
    Do u then say that Maha Vishnu and maha Lakshmi do not have a form or shape?
    So all the representations of Lord Vishnu or Lakshmi in the photographs that are being circulated in this present era are false?
    If you say YES, they do not have a shape, then what form are they in? only light, imagination? or something else?
    and, about other gods like shiva, ganapathi etc, are the photographs circulated around, the replication of their actual shape or just an imagination that one person drew and passed on?

    thanks in advance for the reply

  2. Dear Arun,

    They are not bound by the limitations of Linga Deha – life, death, Indriyas, etc etc.

    I will leave the topic of “photos” and “representation”. We will need to sit down and have a serious discussion to get you an answer 🙂

    Regards, Hari

  3. Namaskara. I have a few rather basic questions and I hope I wont test your patience by asking them 🙂 Apologies in advance!
    1. Since Shri Vayu and Shri Brahma devaru are on the same level, why is that we always say “Vayu Jeevotthama” and do not say “Brahma Jeevotthama”.
    2. Can you kindly provide info on the importance and meaning behind the standard phrase “Bharati Ramana Mukhyaprana antargatha….”
    3. Who is Bharati. Whose consort is she?
    4. I get confused between Prana Devaru, Vayu Devaru, and Anjaneya devaru. Is Hanuman the son of Vayu and if yes, in the phrase “Vayu Jeevotthama” are we referring to Vayu Devaru , NOT Anjaneya devaru?
    Is MukhyaPraana devaru same as Vaayu devaru or Anjaneya devaru?
    I hope I am not wasting your time by asking all these questions. May Lord Hari Bless you.

  4. Namaskara,

    Please take my answers with caution 🙂 I am still a novice in learning this huge ocean of knowledge.

    1. Though Brahma devaru is the creator, it is Mukhya Prana devaru who is responsible for life in this universe. He sits inside of every life form in this universe and infuses “Life”. He resides in every Jiva and does the Shwasa Japa (Hamsa mantra) and consequently there is life. In fact in humans, he performs Hamsa Mantra Japa 21000+ times a day, every single day!! Hence he is Jivottama.

    2. According to Sri Madhva, understanding the Taratamya is very essential to obtain the Lord’s grace. Understanding taratamya also means that we understand the natural way of reaching HIM. We, the lower forms of life, are utterly ill qualified to be “reaching” him. But the way out is to approach HIM through his true Bhaktas. Mukhya Prana is the Lord’s best servant and devotee. Hence, we place our offerings to the Lord through MukhyaPrana. Hence the phrase.

    3. Bharati is the consort of Vayu Devaru.

    4. Rujus (Brahma, Vayu, Latavya etc) are one and the same in their Mula and Avatara rupas. Hence, Mukhya Prana, Anjaneya and Vayu Devaru are same – only their rupa is different. Hence, Vayu Jeevottama is also applicable to Mukhya Prana.

    Sri Vyasanakere Prabhanjanacharya has explained this beautifully in one of his pravachanas. He says that because Vayu is equally powerful in all his avatars, any avatar can be worshipped. Hence Madhva mathas, Anjaneya temples and so on. However, the same is not applicable to other devatas. Therefore, for example, we always worship Shiva in original form and not Ashwatthama or Durvasa or other avatars.

    Hope you find this useful.

    1. Dear Hari,
      I am an infant in these matters, and surely new to the forum.
      I liked you last para describing pranadevara power in all forms being equal. My question is regarding that. My granny always said- even the nail of Narasimha devaru had all the guna and was poorna like the LORD himself. Is that concept true for vayu devaru??. We hear a story about the meeting of the Great monkey and bhima and couldn’t even move his hair….. So is his hair too have the same guna as vayu devaru himself?.

  5. Dear Shri arun,
    linga deha is made of elemens from chit prakriti, sava rajas tamas, it is covers the soul atman, like a skin on the grains ,which has to be beaten, ground and soaked in water to get rid of the skin and the whole grain appears. Souls undergo samsara in creation (akin to grinding) and then finally is dipped(soaked) in viraja to get their original form -swarupa deha (Moksha). Lord and Mahalakshmi do not have any such linga deha. They have only swaroopa deha only. No linga deha hence no birth and death.


    1. It’s very basic question…. But would like to know then…. Does brahma and vayu have linga deha?? He is jeevothama though meaning he finishes his term in the post and in pralaya a new lathavya takes over, rather than death…. Isn’t it?
      Pease explain

      1. Yes, all the Jeevas (including Brahma and Vayu Devaru) are having linga deha. During the great deluge (Maha Pralaya), the fire coming from Sankarshana roopi Sri Hari and Narasimha Devaru will bring the whole set of Jeevas to dust (inside Bramhanda).

        Outside of it, Brahma devaru with all the jeevas will enter the womb of Sri Hari.

        This is my understanding.

        Please correct me if wrong.

      1. If she is Parvati then why in Durga suladhi it says….. Sri bhu Durga varna thriye.
        Isn’t she a representation of Sri Laxmi Devi in the 3 swaroopa gunas of the jeeva… Sathva, rajus and thamasa.
        Please throw light

  6. budhha is avtar of vishnu how exactly ? budhha is not beliving vedas . inned information regarding this .i heard i read that we are accepting budhha is avtar of vishnu from last 1500. years what was before .

    1. Budhha avathar of maha vishnu is not gauthama budhha , budhha avathara was taken from maha vishnu just to help lord shiva to kill tripurasura . think any person who is more knowledgeable on this can some more light on this .

      1. Vinay is absolutely correct here. In the vedas and upanishads, there are many references to the phrase “Triyugi” for Shriman Narayana. That means, he takes avataras in only 3 Yugas, Krutayuga, Tretayuga and Dwaparayuga.
        And Gautama Buddha was born in Kaliyuga.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s