Mahabharata Tatparya Nirnaya: Chapter 1: Part 5

  • 122 In the order of hierarchy, those who have less lakshanas are also considered Gurus. But the average amongst humans have equal positive lakshanas and negative lakshanas. Kali does not possess even a single positive lakshana and has all negative lakshanas only.
  • 123, 124 Whatever is granted by a Guru, who has positive lakshanas, with a happy mind, to his student, will come good. Let there be no doubt regarding this. Since He does not reveal Himself directly, Paramatma grants Mukti by entering into the Guru as an avesha.
  • 125 Even if one is a direct Guru, if he does not initiate/instruct with a cheerful mind, that knowledge will never fructify. Therefore, Gurus must always be revered/worshipped.
  • 126 Due to various reasons, those who are lesser in the hierarchy also become Gurus sometimes. Out of respect for Shastras, these Gurus must also be worshipped. But they need not be worshipped as much as a Guru who is higher than self in the hierarchy. These points are mentioned in the Pancharatra and are substantiated in the Puranas.
  • 127 When one obtains direct knowledge and vision of that form of Lord Hari which is suitable as per his yogyata, then all the previous sins of the individual will get burnt away. Some of his future sins will also get destroyed/detached.
  • 128 Therefore, the statement from Bhavishyat Parva confirms that once the vision of the form of the Lord that is as per the individual’s yogyata is had, it is certain that Moksha will be obtained. This truth is present in the Brahmasutras also. Since “Tadyathaa” is mentioned in the shrutis, they also propagate the same.
  • 129 Those humans who obtain Moksha will enter devatas; devatas will enter Indra; Indra will enter Garuda; Garuda will enter Sesha and Sesha will enter Brahma. Under the leadership of Brahma, all of them will obtain Lord Hari.
  • 130 Those who are liberated will be under those who are higher than them in the hierarchy. The liberated will be free of any defects; they will always be happy; they will never return back from Moksha; they will freely roam around and enjoy; they will never have any deficiency.
  • 131 Similarly, the asuras till Kali have sorrow which keeps increasing based on their position in the hierarchy. Kali has the maximum sorrow. Those who are eligible for the position of Kali are also from a group similar (in concept) to the group of those who qualify to becomes Brahma. Similarly, those who qualify for the different echelons of the asura hierarchy also come from their own groups.
  • 132 Brahma is superior to all other Jivas with regard to all attributes. Similarly, the liberated Brahma has command over all other liberated Jivas. Narayana is the lord for this Brahma and Brahma always takes shelter under Him.
  • 133, 134 In this way, taking inputs from Rig, Yajur, Sama and Atharva vedas, the Itihasa known as Pancharatra, Puranas and other shastras, this decisive commentary has been composed by Anandatirtha Muni, who goes by the name of Purnaprajna, by the orders of Lord Vishnu.
  • 135 Under the orders of Lord Vishnu, the decisive and excellent purport of the shastras have been told by us. Only after knowing this, it is possible to obtain Lord Vishnu.
|| End of chapter 1, known as Sarvashastraarthanirnaya, from the Mahabharata Tatparya Nirnaya, composed by Srimadanandatirtha Bhagavatpada ||

|| Sri Krishnaarpanamastu ||

One thought on “Mahabharata Tatparya Nirnaya: Chapter 1: Part 5

  1. Dear Shri Haripasad,Namaskara

    Sri Madhvacharya has given us ‘Amruta’.
    Let this Gyanya yagnya continue.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s